County Announces Closings for 4th of July

Mecklenburg County Government offices and agencies will be closed Wednesday, July 4, for the Independence Day holiday.

This includes all units of the Department of Social Services, the Tax Office, Elections Office, the Register of Deeds Office, and the Land Use and Environmental Services Agency.

Mecklenburg County Substance Abuse Center (Detox) is open 24 hours a day, seven days a week. The Department of Social Services Care Line (704-336-CARE or 704-336-2773) operates 24 hours a day, seven days a week to receive reports of suspected abuse or neglect of children, the elderly or disabled adults.

The Health Department, Main Library and all library branches will be closed on July 4.

Solid Waste’s administrative offices and all facilities, except Compost Central, will be closed. Compost Central will operate from 7 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Park and Recreation administrative offices and Recreation Centers will be closed. Nature Centers will operate on a normal schedule. Ray’s Splash Planet will operate from 10 a.m. – 6 p.m. The Mecklenburg County Aquatic Center will be open from 8 a.m. -5 p.m. Naomi Drenan Rec Center Grayson Skatepark will operate 10 a.m.-6 p.m.

As a reminder, CharMeck 311 remains open and available to the public on holidays and weekends.