Ten CMS magnet schools win national recognition

Ten Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools received merit awards from Magnet Schools of America. Collinswood Dual Language Academy, Davidson IB Middle, Piedmont Open IB Middle, Randolph IB Middle, Smith Academy of International Languages and Idlewild Elementary were named 2010 Schools of Excellence.

Magnet Schools of America recognizes schools that show a commitment to high academic standards, innovative curriculum, successful efforts in desegregation and diversity, and delivering quality services to students.

Four other CMS magnets were named Schools of Distinction: Myers Park Traditional, Oakhurst Elementary, Oaklawn Language Academy and Tuckaseegee Elementary.

“Our teachers, students and staff work hard to ensure high-quality magnet programs across the district,” said Jeff Linker, director of magnet programs. “It is a major accomplishment to have 10 of our magnet schools recognized for excellence.”

Only 54 schools nationwide were named Schools of Excellence, including 14 in North Carolina. Seventy-three schools across the United States were named Schools of Distinction, including 15 in North Carolina.

This was the first time Tuckaseegee Elementary, Myers Park Traditional and Randolph IB Middle schools applied for the award. Tuckaseegee Elementary Principal Dayna Sanders said her staff was surprised but thrilled to learn they had won on their first try.

“Tuckaseegee is tucked away off I-85 and it isn’t in a well-known part of Charlotte. This award makes us shine and lets everyone know we are just as competitive as any other program in CMS or in America,” she said. “We have scholars who have the potential to be and do whatever they want because we provide that rigorous curriculum.”

This is the fifth year in a row Idlewild has been recognized. Oakhurst has won awards for four years in a row, and Oaklawn was recognized for the past three years.

All 10 of the CMS winners will be recognized at the national Magnet Schools of America conference, which is being held in Florida in May. The six Schools of Excellence will have displays in the exhibit hall, and will go on to compete for additional honors and possibly monetary awards.

Leave a Reply